beginnings

Last night , I attended our quilting guild’s first meeting of the year. It is exciting for 2 reasons.

First, there will be a fiberarts component to the guild this year , after many years of talking about it – there will at last be a monthly group meeting, beginning next week. Guess I should take along some show and tell. Not a problem with the large number of books that I’ve acquired over the summer*grin*

Second….the guild challenge was presented last night in the usual small brown paper bag. I was thrilled , but those with a less diabolical mind will be scratching their head in puzzlement. Those” play by the rules” folks will not see the fun at all in creating an apron.

Yes, an apron has to be to be constructed and displayed at our upcoming quilt show.

I’ve got so many ideas – but shhhhhhh can’t share here as others in the fiber group will be reading this.

In the bag was a piece of brown checkered gingham, a length of lace and a skein of gold coloured embroidery floss. We must use all of these in some portion on the apron and somewhere there has to be Chicken Scratch embroidery ( X’s and O’s) does this not take you back to childhood?

Come on admit you know what I’m talking about……..you didn’t take home ec from the greatest teacher I ever had ?, you didn’t belong to 4-H and still have all your samples of seams,zipper placement and pocket construction?,you didn’t live in a little prairie town of 5oo people and see this sort of embroidery on tea towels and aprons in every home you visited?

What do you mean that you don’t know what an apron is used for? They’re actually coming back in style and it’s the retro thing to wear one. I guess it’s also something to do with the fact that they are easy to construct and the new designer shows are creating a growing number of young people eager to learn to sew (young minds to corrupt to the dark side yes….fading to diabolical chuckles)

 

Could also have to do with the large number of cooking shows on TV ??

anyway I’m eager to do some research and with all these ideas – dare I make two??

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “beginnings”

  1. BCQuilter Says:

    You go Nina!

    I too have a challenge pack… err… I have 2 challenge packs. Shauna is very keen on this project, I think.

    We’ll see what we can come up with. *grin*

  2. BCQuilter Says:

    Nina,

    I’ve been scouring the internet looking for apron ideas, as well as Chicken Scratch patterns.

    There are a number of “vintage” Chicken scratch aprons on Etsy… they are giving me some ideas.

    I am going to need to start jotting down ideas as they come, and then decide which idea I want to pursue.

    -Alice

  3. arlee Says:

    If you’d had this group when i was in Sechelt, ahhhhhhhhh, i would SO have been there, even with a ferry ride!

Leave a Reply

