2010 Goals

So now that the String Quilts workshop is  behind me, I am starting on my plans for 2010.

I want to do another  series with a couple of challenges for myself. When I challenged myself with the alphabet series a few years ago, I had deviated from making them all the same size – so………

I am going to keep to a size perimeter. They all will be no wider than 18-20 inches and no longer that 48-54 inches. I’m referring to them as my “skinnies” and hope to find many designs that work well in that long and narrow  format. The online group called Quiltart did a challenge several years ago called the “straight and narrow” but they could vary from horizontal to vertical. I’m sticking to vertical for now so that I have ease of display at a couple of summer exhibit  opportunities.

Not all of them will be perfect rectangles – but may have uneven edges.

Then I also  want to do  all my projects this year with facings. That will be facings on the outer edges as well as facings on any openings or holes in the middle of the quilt as well.  A lot of my ideas and sketches have circles, arcs, curves and they well may be faced and almost a separate part on top of the base quilt. I’ve started last night , piecing a project  inspired by the work of Sue Benner.

I’m starting in the left over strings – but actually broke out new yardage to compliment the other neutrals, dots, and swirls

( yahoo!)

The Facings part of the project might turn into a class for the guild in the fall. There is a excellent tutorial on Susan Brubaker Knapp’s blog as well as an excellent article on 3 methods in a recent issue of Machine Quilting Unlimited. These 4 methods coupled with a lesson on facing circles and little elements to place on top of a quilt – well – that should turn into a good Sat workshop.

Off to the studio to play in the scraps!

2 Responses to “2010 Goals”

  1. BCQuilter Says:

    Nina,

    What a wonderful challenge you have put for yourself. I am looking forward to seeing your progress with these projects?

    Do you have a set number of pieces? I think the guild has the “Skinny Quilts and Tablerunner” book. I have one, which I got when I took the Shiva Paintstik and Stencilling class at Huckleberry’s awhile ago. There may be inspiration there for you!

    -Alice

  2. Timberlane Quilters' Guild Says:

    Hi Alice, I have both the skinny books as well as several design books that I have collected for the past few years. I want to go back and explore Razzle Dazzle quilts, Thinking Outside The Box and Playtime for Quilters – all 3 books that I used for my alphabet – but there still LOTS of ideas.
    I love what Melody Johnson and Keiko Goke do with their art and i want to be them when i grow up.
    I want to make at least 8 by August – but 12 would be nice to finish for the quilt show.
    Nina

Leave a Reply

