Welcoming the new year

Yes, I have been absent for some time. That will change in 2012 as I finish up a bunch of commitments and get back to my own work.

I’ve been busy with my home guild as we are celebrating 25 years and I felt that my last year of guild politics should finish with a bang. I was the guild’s first  president, past president, secretary, program chairman numerous times, same with multiple years as newsletter editor,librarian, raffle committee and teaching. I felt that I would put a lot of effort into this last year and make sure that there was lots of effort put into workshops and other program activities.

There’s been a lot of time and energy from many guild members ,spent on the transition to our new location. Now I can look ahead to finishing the annual guild challenge, putting together my cookie tin exchange quilt in March  and finishing up several community quilts.

Then I am going to get back to my skinny series as the idea jar is overflowing. I’d like to have several new pieces ready for the Arts Alive in the Park ( august) and then of course along comes the next quilt show.

I know that there will be an emptiness with no commitments to the guild, but I am hoping that I can fill the void with more arts council activities.

I’m going to add a few photos for Leslie , who asked me to show the 2 blocks we discussed. In the cookie tin exchange, ( one a month rotating through our group) there was one tin that asked for black and white blocks. The beginning block was of a tangram figure. I wanted to try some more difficult blocks as the recipient really likes a challenge, so I chose 2 blocks that have been favs of mine for years.

The bottom 2 pieced blocks are mine. Left side is a unnamed block from the 90’s and I had lost the  instructions, so proceeded to dust off the brain cells and do some drafting. The right block is called Tap Dance and is found in quite a few of the Quilter’s Newsletter special magazines over the years.

There was no theme to this particular tin. We were simply asked to make something in back and white

left block was used in a quilt from the 90's, and I no longer have the source or a pattern. Therefore spent some frustrating time with the old drafting tools.

Leave a Reply

