Perfect quilting weather.

It’s a bit dreary, and I’ve used up my quota of gardening hours today. The muscles complain if I load too many wheelbarrows.

This photo below is the results of the Cookie Tin exchange at the guild this past year. There were 6 in my group, and the container was passed around to each person at the monthly business meeting. I had included 5 fat quarters for inspiration and the star block on the upper right. I added 3 more blocks from the left over fabrics. I’m quite happy with the cheeriness. Thanks to all my fellow guild members who contributed.

These  96 string pieced units are complete- all in autumn colours. I have to decide what colour to add for the setting triangles. I think butterscotch may be too brassy and glaring, but black may be too drab. I’ll test a few on the design wall and get some friend’s opinions.

Closeup of the autumn string rectangles (below). This is before they are trimmed to remove the corners and add the setting triangles.

Now that I’ve completed that piecing, I’ve cleaned up and organized in anticipation of a new idea.

BUT, WHAT”S THIS?? 

 Can this be?

 Are there even more containers of scraps than when I started?

I’m 6 weeks into this challenge that I’ve posed for myself. 2 months left to go and we will see how much is left of the scraps by the first guild fall meeting on Sept 6th.

I think I will cut some braid pieces for Friendship Braid. I’m useing Debbie Caffrey’s method and I think the instructions are in her book ” A Can of Worms”.

One Response to “Perfect quilting weather.”

  1. Shirley Says:

    You do realize that when you turn the lights out; there is “hanky-panky” going on in your sewing room and you wake up to more scraps that when you went to bed.? I swear that’s what happens!

    You have set a very large challenge on yourself. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

