Is it that time already?

Checking calendar………., nope , there’s really only 2 weeks left in August and then we begin Fall activities. I have also checked my goal for the string block marathon, and find I’ve fallen behind. I did not take into account that there would be all this lovely gardening weather in the evenings that would keep me from the sewing room.

I have received my new shiny copy of String Fling by Bonnie Hunter. She does not show new shapes of foundations on which to sew strings, BUT she does show the use of straight or diagonal pieced blocks  incorporated  into piecing of larger blocks and gives a whole new view of how to used scrappy bits.

She’s used some extremely tiny scraps, to make small blocks of 5-7 inches. I like the look of almost all her patterns and so will simply enlarge to suit my own size blocks.

Bonnie has also renewed my commitment to try a full size pineapple quilt. I’ve done pineapple blocks for many years, but never more that 9-16 blocks in wall hangings. Now’s the time to do a whole bed quilt.

I do not like to use a foundation of fabric or paper for pineapple blocks, but instead use starch and lots of squareing up after each full round is sewn to each block. We’ll see how I feel after a full quilt size, won’t we?

So now I have:

– a full box of 2 inch strips for pineapples

-a full box of 2.5 inch strips for several jelly roll patterns, as well as cutting for braids, and cutting for 4patches to go in a friendship quilt.

-many more strings to add to my latest pile of earth tones for a renewed attack on string blocks. I hope to have a good pile completed for show and tell at our first fall guild meeting.

We’re supposedly getting some rain in the next week, so I will find the time to  include some photos in the next post and bring you all up to date.

Leave a Reply

