September progress

Well, the weather has been unbelievable, and the yard is looking great. The sewing projects have been a little neglected.

I had sent these blocks to the states last month for a friend’s comfort quilt that is being assembled. We all met online and continue to be friends over 10 years.

This group of 3 items was completed for our living room. The longer table runner will protect the coffee table from rough pottery scratches and the 2 squares will protect the end tables from the metal lamp bases. All of these came out of bits and pieces that had been left from the last 2 raffle quilts I had a hand in completeing.

This brown and green string quilt is 1/4 made up of the class sample I showed you last month and 3/4’s made up of the new blocks I completed. I used some very fine lawn weight cotton , given to me by Shirley for the foundations. I made the blocks behave with brute force and lots of steam,but they still had a bit of wonkiness to their squareness. I am not planning to add a border- busy enough without adding too much more.

I have started on a new October project of ninepatch blocks with a new setting that I found online. Unfortunately, I do not like how the strip sets are going together with lots of re-pressing of seams to get them to lay in a different direction. So I think that I will be constructing this differently from my usual methods. But this will take care of plenty of the 2.5″ strips .

One Response to “September progress”

  1. Deirdre Abbotts Says:

    Wow you’ve been busy. I LOVE the string quilt!
    😀 eirdre

Leave a Reply

